Journal Information

Parliaments, Estates and Representation is the journal of the International Commission for the History of Representative and Parliamentary Institutions. It is peer-reviewed and is published twice a year. It is concerned with political theory and the institutional practice of representation, as well as the internal organization and the social and political background to parliaments and assemblies of estates. The journal publishes scholarly articles covering the whole spectrum of the history of representative institutions up to the present day. It welcomes all contributions which fall within its field of interest, including papers presented at the conferences of the ICHRPI.

Table-of-Contents Alerts

Register for alerts to receive an email as soon as a new issue of Parliaments, Estates & Representation is published.


Manuscripts should be submitted to the Editor in English, French and German in the form of a Word file attached to an email:

Dr John R. Young, History, School of Humanities, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK

Contributions should be typed in double-spacing and presented in accordance with MLA (USA) or MHRA (UK) style books; they should be submitted in the form of a Word file attached to an email to the Editor. For English language contributions, either British or American spellings will be acceptable.

Editorial Board

Editor (articles)
John R. Young (University of Strathclyde, UK)

Assitant Editor (reviews)
Coleman Dennehy (University College Dublin, Ireland)

Editorial Board:
Joseba Agirreazkuenaga (University of the Basque Country, Spain)
Bertrand Augé (University of Pau and Pays de l'Adour, France)
Thomas N. Bisson (Harvard University, USA)
Wilhelm Brauneder (University of Vienna, Austria)
Maria Helena da Cruz Coelho (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
Henry J. Cohn (University of Warwick, UK)
Maria Sofia Corciulo (University of Rome, La Sapienza, Italy)
Valerie Cromwell (Institute of Historical Research, UK)
Guido D’Agostino (University of Naples, Italy)
Jean Garrigues (University of Orleans, France)
Sandro Guerrieri (University of Rome, La Sapienza, Italy)
Michel Hébert (University of Quebec at Montreal, Canada)
Lothar Höbelt (University of Vienna, Austria)
Johannes Helmrath (Humbolt University, Berlin)
Tatsunori Isomi (Sophia University, Tokyo, Japan)
Eva Jedruch (Independent scholar, USA)
Georgia Karvunaki (Independent scholar, Greece)
Gerald Kohl (University of Vienna, Austria)
László Komáromi (Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Hungary)
Macarena Ponce de León (Catholic University of Chile, Santiago, Chile)
Alastair Mann (University of Stirling, UK)
Estevão de Rezende Martins (University of Brasilia, Brazil)
Mario di Napoli (Senate of Italy, Rome)
Sorin Radu (Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu, Romania)
John Rogister (Institut de France, Paris)
Paul Seaward (The History of Parliament Trust, UK)
Akira Shibutani (Shimane University, Matsue, Japan)
Francesco Soddu (University of Sassari, Italy)
Joachim W. Stieber (Smith College, Massachusetts, USA)
Magdolna Szigeti (Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Hungary)
Mikel Urquijo (University of the Basque Country, Spain)